skip navigation

Six Eureka Players Garner Post-Season Honors

By Debbie Ward, 08/04/18, 10:30AM CDT


Coach Ganey Named 2018 MSLA Coach of the Year

The Eureka Lacrosse team had an exceptional 2018 season, going 16-5 overall. In post-season play, they climbed to the semi-finals with a 12-7 win over CBC and finally fell   to St. Louis University 10-8 in a hard-fought semi-final game.

Eureka Lacrosse Post-Season Honors 2018

Six Eureka players were recognized at the end of the season at the state and local level for their accomplishments during the Spring 2018 Season, including:

Chase Baker (2019 midfield)

MSLA All-State 1st Team
Michael Ward (2018 attack)
Chase Baker (2019 midfield)
Noah Cross (2018 defense)

MSLA All State 2nd Team
Ross Mikel (2019 attack)
Jacob VanKleeck (2019 midfield)
Josh Stolz (2019 defense)

All Metro 1st Team
Chase Baker (2019 midfield),

All Metro 2nd Team
Michael Ward (2018 attack)
Noah Cross (2018 defense),

Baker led the area with 97 goals, including seven in the postseason as Wildcats reached MSLA State Championship semifinals. Baker's 119 points were second in the area only to All-Metro player of the year Graham Bundy Jr. A USL All-American selection, Baker scored eight goals in two different games and had a season-high 11-point game March 29 against Marquette.

Ward's 35 assists ranked fifth in the area and he also scored 33 goals for 68 points, seventh-best among area players. He will play with Embry Riddle Aeronautical University in 2019.

Cross made it difficult for the opposing teams’ offense, and scooped up 55 ground balls during the season. He will play for Washington University next Spring.

In addition to the players, head coach Tim Ganey was named 2018 MSLA Coach of the Year. Ganey has been with the program since 2010.